Victor H. Street

A street in the town of Beau Bassin (district of Plaines Wilhems), named after an unidentifiable person:

8 réponses à “Victor H. Street

  1. Avant que quelqu’un d’autre ne la fasse, je me permets d’encourager ce jeune homme: « Go, Victor Hu, go! »

  2. Siganus Sutor

    Hu is this??

  3. Is there any serious doubt that it’s Victor Hugo?

  4. Siganus Sutor

    John, it looks as if it’s that awful* man indeed. See here an extract of the map of Beau-Bassin-Rose-Hill**, which was taken from Mauritius Telecom’s directory. The street in question lands right on the “jardin Balfour”.

     

    * One of my wife’s aunts didn’t think any good of Victor Hugo. She saw him as an awful man when it came to private matters — presumably the ones that really mattered as far as she was concerned.
    ** Do you know of any other municipality that has 3 hyphens in its name?

  5. Pour avoir vécu à Beau-Bassin je me rappelle de cette rue dans laquelle se trouve d’immenses résidences. J’étais à l’école primaire dans le coin à Philippe Rivalland.

    C’est la première fois que j’écris ça et je me rends compte que je n’ai jamais su qui était ce monsieur Rivalland.

Laisser un commentaire

